Skip to content

One Week Down . . .

August 24, 2009

For Prof. Nixon’s FYE 1220 Class:

You’ve now completed your first full week at Georgia Southern University. Take a few moments now and reflect on the following three questions:

What did you learn?
What surprised you?
What do you now want to know more about?

In the Leave a Reply area, fill out the short demographic form (name, e-mail, etc.), and respond with at least one item in each of the three categories. In other words, let me know at least one thing you learned, one thing that surprised you, and one thing you want to know more about. Your answers can focus on college in general or on this Making Connections: Facebook & Beyond course.

Questions?

barbara_is_listening

Photo Credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/jjay/112404324/

26 Comments leave one →
  1. Summer Newman permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:08 pm

    It has been very busy, but easier than I had anticipated. Juggling a life and school is difficult, but I am very excited to be going back to school.

  2. August 24, 2009 5:08 pm

    What did you learn?
    – I learned college isn’t nearly as bad as people make it out to be (especially your high school teachers!). I learned that I have a lot more free time than I thought I would and that the entire atmosphere at college is much more relaxed than high school.

    What surprised you?
    – I was surprised at how easy it is to get to everything. Whether I want to go to the RAC or go eat somewhere, everything is very close. Overall my experience in my first week has been great.

    What do you now want to know more about?
    – Clubs, other activities, etc.

  3. Chelsey Howard permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:08 pm

    My first week of GSU went faster than I thought. I learned that being in college meant figuring out things on my own and that I couldnt depend on my teacher to get all my information…I have to find it myself. What surprised me was the amount of people who didn’t know how to do laundry. Almost everytime I went to the laundry room there was at least two other freshman who didnt know how to do their laundry. And I would like to know more about events that happen on and off campus.

  4. Kayla Lay permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:08 pm

    What did you learn?

    – A lot of different things, Especially the difference between college and highschool.

    What surprised you?

    – How big the campus really is, You can really get lost around here.

    What do you now want to know more about?

    – Possibly more about my roomies, so far we all come from different backgrounds and have different personalities. We get along but we have to get used to eachothers diverse ways.

  5. Lindsey Hall permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:09 pm

    What did you learn?
    *I learned that it is going to take alot of self-disipline to get up and go to class. I will have to turn down many good offers to be able to get all my work done.

    What surprised you?
    *I was surprised at what a big campus GSU is. Coming from a small neighboring town of Statesboro, it was a bit of a culture shock.

    What do you now want to know more about?
    *I would like to know more about the different organizations/clubs/activities that GSU has to offer.

  6. Mary-Louise Hill permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:09 pm

    What did I learn?
    -Doing my own laundry is a lot harder than it seems
    What surprised you?
    -How good the food is here
    -that I kept my room pretty clean for an entire week
    What do you now want to know more about?
    -if there is tennis intramurals?

  7. Kirby Knowles permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:09 pm

    1. I learned how to navigate the campus and associate buildings and pathways with classes and the rooms in which my classes are located. I also learned how much fun college is going to be!
    2. What really surprised me is the sheer number of students that are taking classes at Georgia Southern. There are almost 20 thousand students! Also, the RAC is awesome!
    3. I really want to know more about technology and I really want to learn more about Calculus and programming. Both are quite annoying to study, but are pivotal in an educational standpoint.

  8. Shelby McCarter permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:10 pm

    So far here at Georgia Southern I’ve learned that there is always something to do. Whether it’s going to a showing of Star Trek at the Union, playing kickball with a group of friends or having to complete online homework you can be constantly be busy if that’s what you aim for. Time is definitely a premium here on campus.

    I was surprised how easy it is to make friends and how eager some people are to meet new individuals.

    I would love to know more about the opportunities available to get involved on campus.

  9. Lauren Sokolowsky permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:10 pm

    The thing that surprised me most this week is that I need to have at least an hour or two every weekend to myself. Without those precious moments, i have the urge to jump down everyone’s throat, and be a huge jerk.

    I have learned that there are about 1000 ways to get to any one class. which could be seen as beneficial, or just extremely annoying depending on which context you set it in.

  10. Farhaan Penangwala permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:10 pm

    1. I learned my way around campus this first week of college. I now know where everything on campus is.
    2. I was surprised how big the campus and Statesboro actually is. From the campus visit I really didn’t realize that there is actually so much to do in Statesboro.
    3. I would like to know more about the city and the college, and how it came to be.

  11. Davia Woulard permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:10 pm

    1.I learned a lot this week mainly how to get around campus quickly, and also how to use different things the school offers such as GeorgiaView.
    2.It surprised me at how many people there are on this campus, but at the same time its not as crowded as I thought it would be.
    3.I guess I would like to learn more about different opportunities at the school to get involved.

  12. Emily Ann Diamond permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:10 pm

    What did you learn?
    that i am absolutely crazy for taking 19 hours a week.

    What surprised you?
    the fact that my majors calls for more credits than any other major. im so crazy.

    What do you now want to know more about?
    nothing comes to mind.

  13. Kristen Bantin permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:10 pm

    I have learned that managing my time is going to be harder than I thought. I am doing pretty good with managing my time, but with my friends being here and us having different schedules there have been times when I have had to choose to go out with friends, or stay in and study.

    Something that surprised me is that laundry is not as hard to fit into my schedule as I thought it would be. I figured it would be difficult to find time to do laundry, but I have realized that if I put my laundry in and leave it and go to my room and study, I can get two things done at once!
    Another thing that surprised me is how well I adapted to living with someone else. I did not know my roommate before moving in and although we are nothing alike, we get along, and share our space with no problem!

    I am anxious to learn more about how this semester is going to be, and if I will be able to handle my schedule. I am anxious to find out how my teachers test will be and course work.

  14. Tiffany Rowe permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:11 pm

    Being from Statesboro it seems that I already know everything there is to know about GSU, and if I didn’t, I found out quickly the first week.
    I was surprised by how absolutely tired I was after only going to a few classes in one day. Although I realized that working 9 hours every other day I don’t have classes has become very stressful quickly. I’m sure things will settle down once I get acquainted with all the websites and information.
    I’m not sure what I would like to learn more about, except how to access my healthful living ebook. I still haven’t figured that out. I probably should though, I have class tomorrow :]

  15. Kris Bailey permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:11 pm

    What did you learn? I learned that it is very important to budget your time. Time management is the appropriate tool for a successful college career.
    What surprised you? I was surprised at how fast the first week went by. All my classes did not go straight to work but simply went over the syllabus and dismissed class.
    What do you now want to know more about? I want to know more about the minors of writing and web media. I also would like to know what classes are appropriate for these minors.

  16. Anna Kelley permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:11 pm

    1) I have learned how to get around campus finally!!! (For the most part..)
    2) Some of my teachers have surprised me. I thought all of them would be much more lenient on things like attendance; I feel like I’m still in high school. (some are, though)
    3) I want to know more about the sororities. I thought I would never want to join, but now I feel like I missed out by not rushing.

  17. Ericka Nelson permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:12 pm

    During my first week at Ga Southern I learned to find my way around campus. I used a map I was givin at SOAR to find my way around. At first I thought this campus was really big, but now that I know my way around it seems like a normal size.One thing that surpised me was that people were actually friendly. I asked a few students where some places were and they didn’t mind stopping for a minute to briefy tell me.I guess that’s the southern hospitality down here in them. I would like to know more about the student activities on campus that I could possibly get involved in. I want to get involved so I can make more friends.

  18. Akeem hill permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:12 pm

    what i learn?
    -A new way to teach my self how to study outside of class.
    What surprised you?
    -that when school started i was short 3 hours from being a full time student?
    What do you now want to know more about?
    – what classes i would need to take to be a Art teacher?

  19. Brooke Beaver permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:12 pm

    I learned that college is a lot more work than I thought. And that there isn’t an elevator in Eagle Village or that I cant find it. I want to know more about how to use your time wisely: balancing social and schoolwork. Nothing really surprised me except how incredibly hot it gets at 3:30!!! That’s it!

  20. Colin Laudino permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:12 pm

    What did you learn?
    I have a lot of free time inbetween classes and my homework isn’t usually due right away. There are multiple places i can use my meal plan at on campus. I need to hold onto my eagle ID in order to get into my dorm.

    What surprised you?
    How many crazy bicyclists there are on campus. The fact that i can’t understand some of my professors.

    What do you now want to learn more about?
    I want to learn about club sports or other activity groups.

  21. Christy Hallenberg permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:12 pm

    This week I learned that I have a lot of free time that I need to use it wisely. I was suprised to find out how easy it is to get around the campus. I want to know more about the RAC and some of the classes they offer.

  22. Phuong Mai permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:12 pm

    – After the first week coming back school, I have known how to add and drop classes which I want to or not, because in my country we never do it. I also learn that I now need to schedule my time to study for classes.
    – Besides, I was surpired with 2 of my classes. It is a very big class.
    – Also I want to know more about how to take notes in some of my classes.

  23. Sarah Keith permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:13 pm

    The first week of school was pretty cool. I think that while I learned a lot about the courses that I’ll be taking this first semester, the biggest thing that stuck with me was the fact that I was now responsible for whatever outcome I would get from the courses – the grades I would receive would be a result of the time I put into each class.
    I think the biggest thing that surprised me was how many smokers there were on campus lol. I think everywhere I went, I saw maybe 3-5 ppl smoking…not that I have a problem with smokers, but I’ve just never seen so many at once.
    Ummm…..to be honest, if I could figure out the whole financial aid process (like when you’re no longer allowed to use your EagleId to purchase books) that would help me out a great deal.

  24. Jeremy Ivory permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:17 pm

    What did I learn?…. Well I’m not a first year student, I am a sophomore. I just didn’t take the class. But one thing that I learned last year was that you can have fun, work, be apart of a frat, and study to get good grades just as long as u manage your time wisely. Things that surprised me were that I was able to start a frat and maintain a job and was able to keep above a 3.0 gpa.

  25. lisamuller permalink
    August 25, 2009 10:23 am

    Hello from the PR Writing class! We are looking at your blog for ideas.

Trackbacks

  1. Blog Assignment for FYE 1220 GG « Making Connections

Leave a Reply

