Skip to content

Podcasts 101

October 19, 2009
tags:

What is a podcast? Put simply, it’s a recording — either audio or video — that you can play when it’s convenient for you. Podcasts exist on a wide variety of topics, from social media, to sports, to comedy, to news . . . and everything inbetween.

I listen to podcasts during my commute from Savannah to Statesboro, and also when I am walking. Some people prefer to listen to podcasts on their computers; my preference is listening to them on my Palm Pre or iPod. Some of my favorite podcasts are: For Immediate ReleaseInside PR, The Creative CareerMedia Bullseye Radio Roundtable, Trafcom News, Marketing Over Coffee, and Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me.

Here’s a short video on how to subscribe to and download podcasts using iTunes.

If you’re not an iTunes person, you may want to visit Podcast Alley, where you can find thousands more podcasts. You can listen to the podcasts directly from the website.

As a reminder, your 7th required blog post for this class is about podcasts. Please respond (with a comment) to this post when you decide which podcast(s) you’ll listen to for the assignment.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2009 9:31 am

    Thanks for including Trafcom News among your favorite podcasts, Barbara. I follow the ones you’ve mentioned, except for The Creative Career, which is new to me. I will check it out.

  2. November 7, 2009 1:43 pm

    I’m listening to the Red Bar Radio Podcast

  3. November 7, 2009 1:45 pm

    I’m listening to the Red Bar Radio podcast for my blogging assignment.

  4. Lauren Sokolowsky permalink
    November 9, 2009 3:41 pm

    I think that I will be basing my posting on the College Humor Podcast.

  5. linz1990 permalink
    November 15, 2009 7:10 pm

    I’m going to watch THAT SUCKS

  6. November 16, 2009 2:47 pm

    I’ll listen to podcast at dmlive

  7. Anna Kelley permalink
    November 16, 2009 5:29 pm

    I listened to Red Bar Radio

  8. Kris Bailey permalink
    November 16, 2009 6:24 pm

    I’m listening to “Why does the United States flouridate water?” and Why do people think the world is going to end in 2012?”.

Leave a Reply

